Maryland Driver's License & Registration.
MOTOR VEHICLE AND DRIVER’S LICENSE INFORMATION: www.marylandmva.com and www.maryland.gov New residents are required to obtain a driver’s license and register and title vehicles within sixty (60) days of establishing Maryland residency.
New residents holding a valid driver’s license from another state are required to pass an eye test and a written test. Minimum driving age is 16 years with driver’s education, 18 without. Motorcycles are licensed under the same regulations and fees. Licensees are required to carry liability, property damage, and economic loss insurance coverage.
- Motor Vehicle Administration, Headquarters 6601 Ritchie Highway, Glen Burnie, MD 21062 410-768-7363
- Motor Vehicle Administration, 160 Harry S. Truman Pkwy., Annapolis, MD 21403 888-212-4709
Maryland Vehicle Registration
Before a vehicle can be registered and titled in Maryland, state law requires that the vehicle pass an equipment inspection at one of the authorized Maryland inspection stations in the county of residence. The inspection stations are certified by the state police and each station sets its own fees for inspection. Once the vehicle has passed inspection, the owner whose name appears on the car’s title must bring the following items to a Motor Vehicle Administration Office to apply for tags: registration and title, a certificate that the vehicle passed equipment inspection, title to the vehicle and former registration, proof of insurance, and any lien contracts (if there is a lien on the vehicle). You must call to make an appointment for vehicle registration as there are a limited number of cars processed daily (see phone numbers listed above).
All vehicles from another state are subject to a one-time excise tax of 5% of the blue book value or purchase price. The cost of state tags depends on the weight of the vehicle; a titling fee also applies.
A detailed pamphlet, “How to Register and Title Your Boat in Maryland”, is available from the Department of Natural Resources or a marine dealer. Federal law requires propelled boats (in whole or in part by machinery) of any type or size to be registered and numbered before being operated on Maryland waters. Boats displaying a valid number from another state may be used on a temporary basis only.
Note: Boat trailers must be registered through the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration. Call 1-800-950-1682 for information and assistance.
Maryland Department of Natural Resources: 410-260-3220. www.dnr.state.md.us/boating/registration/
Registration is not mandatory in Maryland. Restrictions pertaining to use and possession are found under the conservation laws. Contact the Maryland State Police 410-268-6101 for further information.
Maryland residents may register up to 30 days preceding a general or primary election and up to 13 days before a special election. The 15 days after an election are closed to registration. There is no length-of-residency requirement. For more information, visit: www.elections.state.md.us
Supervisors of Elections
Information: Anne Arundel County: 410-222-6600 Prince George County: 301-952-3270.